Eoin Morgan gets the KKR’s captaincy after DK abdicate

Eoin Morgan gets the KKR’s captaincy after DK abdicate

Kolkata Knight Rider’s captain Dinesh Karthik steps aside and give the captaincy to England T20 winner captain Eoin Morgan. Kolkata Knight Rider has played now 7 matches in the Indian Premier League and they have won 4 matches and lost 3 matches. They are in the 4th position in the league table. In this season DK had started with poor performance with the score of 6, 1, 12, 6, 30, 0 and 58 with a 15 average but Eoin Morgan is scoring 175 runs with 35 average and a strike rate of 129 in 7 IPL matches.

Since 2018, Kolkata Knight Rider was led by Dinesh Karthik and with his captaincy KKR won 19 matches and lost 17 matches in 37 matches. KKR had finished the IPL league table 3rd position in 2018 and 5th position in 2019. Among all the KKR captains Gautam Gambhir had the highest percentage win of 57.43% and Dinesh Karthik the second KKR captain whose winning percentage was 52.70%. So the KKR management had decided to give the captaincy of KKR to Eoin Morgan.

The CEO of Kolkata Knight Rider Venky Mysore said that, “we are blessed to have captains, for example, Dinesh Karthik, who has consistently put the KKR first. It takes a great deal of fortitude for somebody like him to take a choice, for example, this. While we were surprised by his choice, we are aware of his desires.”

“We are additionally blessed that Eoin Morgan, the 2019 T20 World Cup-winning leader, who has been the vice captain, is eager to lead the side going ahead. Dinesh Karthik and Eoin Morgan have worked splendidly together during this competition and in spite of the fact that Eoin takes over as skipper, this is adequately a great advantage and we expect that this change will work in a consistent way.”

“For the benefit of everybody at the Kolkata Knight Riders, we express gratitude toward Dinesh Karthik for every one of his commitments as captain for the last over two years and wish Eoin Morgan the absolute best going ahead.”, He added.